# NCBA Virtual Meeting June 1, 2021 6:00 p.m.

# Meeting Called to Order by Jamie Bream 6:02 p.m.

#### Call to Order & Welcome - Jamie Bream

Thanks to Auditions Chairs: Susan Fritts, Matthew Dowell, and Kyler Zary

Special Thanks to Eddie Deaton - Tabulations

Thanks to the NC Symphony for providing master classes for our honors band students this year.

Special Thanks to Ruth Petersen for setting up the links and monitoring all the sessions!

Introduction of the District Presidents: Eastern – Robert Parker, Southeastern – Curt Collins, East Central – Brian Myers, Central – Jeremy Ray, Northwestern – Jason Childress, South Central – Josh Potter, Western – Ana Bullock

Thanks to our Past Presidents: Olivia Dove – Southeastern, Matthew Pellas – East Central and Karen Williams-Lanning – Western

#### **Minutes - Jamie Bream**

Minutes from the November 2020 meeting have been posted online for review. Motioned for approval by James Phillips and  $2^{nd}$  by Matt Liner All Approved

# Treasurer's Report-Jamie Bream

NCBA- **\$17,798.27** 

Districts will be assessed \$1450.00 to cover NCBA expenses. This will be transferred from your district account by the Executive Director on November 1.

Honors Band-Rodney Workman

Honors Band **\$34,477.52** 

NCBA Honors Band Paid \$2500 to the NC Symphony and \$3681.63 on Honorariums, Audition Expenses, 2021 Solo Rotations, Percussion Solo Writing for 2022, and other costs associated with the 2021 Clinic and Auditions for 2020-2021.

Motion Matt Pellas – 2nded by body member All approved

# **Honors Band Auditions - Jamie Bream**

Chairs: Susan Fritts, Matthew Dowell, Kyler Zary

Location: Central Davidson MS & HS

Date: March 5, 2022

Snow Date: March 12, 2022

Fee: \$20

#### Honors Band Clinic - Jamie Bream

Clinician Assistants: Olivia Spell, Wes Richardson, Timothy Sale

April 29-May 1, 2022 - UNC-Chapel Hill

2022 Clinicians

Middle School - Wendy Higdon

9/10 - Margi Underwood

11/12 - Colonel Lowell Graham

# All-State Honors Band Auditions Committee - Jason Barclift

The Honors Band Committee recommends the adoption of the new Middle School Percussion (Snare, Mallets, and Timpani) Solos as shared previously via email for the 2021-22 school year.

We plan to have new solos in place for High School Percussion as well as the second set of MS solos in time for the 2022-23 school year.

Jeff Warner is currently working on the 11/12 Winds Solos for 2022-23 and we will once again share them with you for edits in the coming months. Thanks to all of you who took time to play through and examine the first set of solos to limit problems in the future.

#### No member comments.

Vote passed by majority - none opposed.

# **Concert Band MPA Committee: Jim Kirkpatrick**

MPA Rule 3c. is suspended for 2021-22. Directors may choose to have students perform on their primary instrument in multiple bands from the same school in order to alleviate instrumentation issues that may arise due to the impact of COVID.

A sub-committee has been formed to explore the diversification of the MPA repertoire list and also to investigate current repertoire on the MPA list that potentially promotes cultural and/or racial bias.

MPA additions will only be accepted via the NCBA website. The Google form for submissions is linked on the website. The deadline for Fall 2021 additions is November 1. The deadline for Spring 2022 deletions, grade level changes and additions is April 23.

# **Marching Committee: Matt Leinart**

The Marching <u>Band Competition & Adjudicators Manual</u> for the 2021 season has been updated and is accessible from the marching band page of the NCBA website.

The new judges placemats are accessible from the marching band page of the NCBA website.

Rule 3.05 - Timing Penalties - The marching band committee has voted to eliminate the minimum performance time requirement for the 2021 season.

Reminders about new procedures for the 2021 season:

- Judging panel has been reduced to utilize only one music effect adjudicator
- Music Performance Ensemble & Music Performance Individual captions have been modified to have "what" & "how" sub-captions.
- The caption weighting will be as follows...
  - o Music Performance Ensemble 25%
  - Music Performance Individual 15%

- o Music Effect 20%
- o Visual Effect 20%
- Visual Performance 20%
- Judges will no longer be required to provide written commentary of a band's performance.

The Calendar of 2021 NCBA Marching Events is listed on the marching band page of the NCBA website.

NCBA show host applications are due August 1st, 2021.

Judge Password: 2021NCBAmb

# Hall of Fame - Jim Kirkpatrick

Nominations for 2022 are due July 1, 2021. Form can be found on the website.

#### 2021 Inductees

Jeffery Richardson

**David Robinson** 

Neil Underwood

#### **NCMEA Conference - Jamie Bream**

Some Highlights with more to come!

Dr. Richard Miles

Beth Fabrizio

**Harmony Director Training** 

Triangle Wind Ensemble

Triangle Youth Brass Band

#### For the Good of the Order - Jamie Bream

NC Honors Orchestra Audition Deadline - June 11th, 2021- More information is on the NCBA website.

# **James Daugherty:**

Links are on the agenda for the ESSER TOOLKIT: C.A.R.E.S. Act money (Title IV) Review and access this information for possible arts education funding.

Jamie Bream: NFHS – Study is published and complete. New guidance likely over the summer.

Motion James Phillips Adjourn & Steve Kuni 2nd

Meeting Adjourned: 6:28

Respectfully submitted by Karen Williams Lanning

# **General Meeting: Zoom Participants**

Present:

**James Bream** 

Ruth Petersen

Jim Kirkpatrick

Al Bright

Adam Capps

Adam Joiner

Adam Reinhardt

Alyssa Montgomery

Ana Bulluck

**Andrew Craft** 

**Andy Weiss** 

Anna Peterson

Bill Witcher

Blair Dyal

**Bob Norem** 

Brenda Flowers

**Brent Davis** 

Casey Duryea

Chris Foster

Colin Choat

Colin Tapp

**Curt Collins** 

**Greg Jenner** 

James Daugherty

James Phillips

**Jason Barclift** 

Jason Black

Jason Childers

Jennifer Gibson

Jim Kirkpatrick

Johnathan Hamiel

Jorge Benitez

Joshua Potter

Karen Matthews

Katie Ebert

**Kelly Saunders** 

Kenneth Tysor

Kim Barclift

Laura Burrell

Matt Brusseau

Matt Pellas

Mekel Rogers

Michael Hough

Mike Gomez

Mike Self

G. Dills

Myron Massey

Olivia Spell

Pam Sweet

Patrick Haymore

Patrick Shipp Perry Ditch Quincy Lundy

Rebecca Clemens

Rob McConnell

**Rob Owens** 

**Rob Parker** 

Rodney

Ron Payne

Sam Bogan Sam Carter

Sonya Ferguson

Steve Kuni

Tammy White

Ted

Tim Kohring

Tracy Humphries

Karen Williams Lanning